

CHANGE OF THE SACU CHAIRMANSHIP 15 JULY 2021 WINDHOEK, NAMIBIA

PRESS RELEASE

- 1. The Republic of Botswana will assume the Chairmanship of the SACU Summit, Council of Ministers and Commission, effective from the 15th July 2021 to the 14th July 2022. Botswana takes over from the Republic of South Africa, who held the SACU Chair from the 14th July 2020 to 14th July 2021. The SACU Chairmanship rotates amongst the Member States for a period of twelve (12) months, in alphabetical order.
- 2. The President of the Republic of Botswana, His Excellency Dr Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi, will assume the role of the Chairperson of the SACU Summit, taking over from the President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Cyril Ramaphosa.
- 3. The Minister of Finance of the Republic of Botswana, Honourable Peggy O. Serame, will assume the role of Chairperson of the SACU Council of Ministers, taking over from the Minister of Finance of the Republic of South Africa, Honourable Tito T. Mboweni.
- 4. The Secretary for Economic and Financial Policy in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development of Botswana, Mr. Kelapile Ndobano takes over as the Chairman of the SACU Commission, from the Deputy-Director General International Trade and Economic Development, Department of Trade, Industry and Competition of South Africa, Ambassador Xavier Carim.
- 5. The Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Finance of the Kingdom of Eswatini, Ms. Sizakele Dlamini, will be the Chairperson of the Finance and Audit Committee, taking over from the Secretary for Economic and Financial Policy in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development of Botswana, Mr. Kelapile Ndobano.

Issued by:

Ms. Paulina M. Elago Executive Secretary of SACU

For further information contact:

Ms. Kungo Mabogo SACU Secretariat Communications Manager Email: info@sacu.int

Cell: +264811468385