

CHANGE OF THE SACU CHAIRMANSHIP 14 JULY 2022 WINDHOEK, NAMIBIA

PRESS RELEASE

- 1. The Kingdom of Eswatini will assume the Chairmanship of the SACU Summit, Council of Ministers and Commission, effective from the 15th July 2022 to the 14th July 2023. Eswatini takes over from the Republic of Botswana, who held the SACU Chair from the 15th July 2021 to 14th July 2022. The SACU Chairmanship rotates amongst the Member States for a period of twelve (12) months, in alphabetical order.
- 2. King Mswati III of the Kingdom of Eswatini will assume the role of the Chairperson of the SACU Summit, taking over from the President of the Republic of Botswana, His Excellency Dr. Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi.
- 3. The Minister of Finance of the Kingdom of Eswatini, Honourable Neal Rijkenberg, will assume the role of Chairperson of the SACU Council of Ministers, taking over from the Minister of Finance of the Republic of Botswana, Honourable Peggy O. Serame.
- 4. The Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Finance of the Kingdom of Eswatini, Ms. Sizakele Dlamini, takes over as the Chairperson of the SACU Commission, from the Secretary for Economic and Financial Policy in the Ministry of Finance of Botswana, Mr. Kelapile Ndobano.
- 5. The Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Finance of the Kingdom of Lesotho, Ms. Nthoateng Lebona, will be the Chairperson of the Finance and Audit Committee, taking over from the Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Finance of the Kingdom of Eswatini, Ms. Sizakele Dlamini.

Ms	Paul	ina N	И. FI	ago	

Executive Secretary of SACU

Issued by:

For further information contact: Ms. Kungo Mabogo SACU Secretariat Communications Manager

Email: <u>info@sacu.int</u> Cell: +264811468385