

MEDIA RELEASE: CHANGE OF THE SACU CHAIRMANSHIP

24 JULY 2020 WINDHOEK, NAMIBIA

- 1. The Republic of South Africa assumed the Chairmanship of the SACU Summit, Council of Ministers and Commission, effective from the 15th July 2020 to the 14th July 2021, taking over from the Republic of Namibia. On the same day SACU also marked 110 years of existence as the oldest operating Customs Union in the world.
- 2. As provided for in the SACU Agreement, 2002 (amended in 2013), the SACU Chairmanship rotates amongst the Member States for a period of twelve months in an alphabetical order.
- 3. The President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Cyril Ramaphosa, is the Chairperson of the SACU Summit, taking over from the President of Namibia of the Republic of Namibia, His Excellency Dr. Hage G. Geingob.
- 4. The Minister of Finance of the Republic of South Africa, Honourable Tito T. Mboweni, has assumed the role of Chairperson of the SACU Council of Ministers, taking over from the Minister of Finance of the Republic of Namibia, Honourable lipumbu W. Shiimi.
- 5. Ambassador Xavier Carim, Deputy Director General International Trade and Economic Development, Department of Trade and Industry of South Africa takes over the Chairmanship of the SACU Commission, from Ms. Ericah Shafudah, Executive Director in the Ministry of Finance in the Republic of Namibia.
- 6. The Secretariat facilitated the official handover of the Chairmanship of the SACU Commission, the Council of Ministers as well as the Summit to the Republic of South Africa via a virtual meeting held on the 24th July 2020.
- 7. The Secretariat also facilitated the official handover of the Chairmanship of the SACU Finance and Audit Committee (FAC) to the Republic of Botswana on 17 July 2020. The Acting Secretary for Economic and Financial Policy in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development of Botswana, Mr. Kelapile Ndobano, is the Chairperson of FAC, taking over from the Deputy Director-General: International and Regional Economic Integration in the Department of National Treasury of South Africa, Ms. Vuyelwa Vumendlini.
- 8. The next Member State to Chair the Meetings of the SACU Institutions at the end of South Africa's tenure, will be the Republic of Botswana from 15th July 2021.

For more information please contact:

Ms. Kungo Mabogo
SACU Secretariat
Communications Manager
Kungo.Mabogo@sacu.int

Issued by:

Ms. Paulina M. Elago

Executive Secretary of SACU