Share this:

About SACU

History of SACU

SACU predates modern trade and customs Agreements, and to-date it remains a Customs Union. It was originally established by the British colonial power in the 1880s.

Read more

Objectives of SACU

The objectives of SACU as contained in Article 2 of the SACU Agreement, 2002, are to: facilitate the cross-border movement of goods between the territories of the Member States;

Read more

Member States

Formed in 1910, SACU holds the distinction of being the oldest Customs Union globally and it comprises of Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, and South Africa

Read more

SACU Institutions

SACU institutions are set out in Article 7 of the SACU Agreement, 2002 (as amended in 2013). These are: the Summit, the Council of Ministers, the Commission, the Tariff Board, the Secretariat, the Technical Liaison Committees and an ad hoc Tribunal.)

Read more

SACU © 2024, All rights reserved
Another website by Asylum Design and DevelopmentAsylum Design and DevelopmentAsylum Design & Development